And the 24th Annual Emerald Awards go to…

EDMONTON, Alberta – On June 4, environmental leaders from across the province gathered at Edmonton’s Citadel Theatre for the announcement of the 24th Annual Emerald Awards. Presented by the Alberta Emerald Foundation, the uniquely-Albertan award showcases environmental excellence in nine cross-sectoral categories.

Earlier this year, the Alberta Emerald Foundation received many nominations for the prestigious Emerald Awards. A panel of knowledgeable third-party judges was tasked with reviewing all nominations and selecting three finalists and one recipient per category.

“We are the only foundation in the country to recognize the important work of environmental leaders across all sectors,” says Alan Ross, Chair of the Board, Alberta Emerald Foundation. “By honouring and elevating the ingenuity, dedication and hard work of these individuals and organizations, we inspire others to follow their example, benefiting all Albertans with a healthier and cleaner environment.”

“The Emerald Awards shine a spotlight on an area that many people may not be aware of,” says Grant Pearsell, recipient of the Government Institution Award for the City of Edmonton. “The Emerald Awards help others by giving a frame of reference for excellent environmental works that they wouldn’t otherwise have.”

Hosted by Edmontonian theatre artists Jana O’Connor and Chris Bullough, the Emerald Awards celebration featured special performances by Strathcona County High School Choir, award-winning Toy Guns Dance Theatre  and Nuella Charles, and an original poem by Poet Laureate Mary Pikinski. Providing greetings from the City of Edmonton and Province of Alberta were City Councillor Michael Walters and Deputy Minister Bill Werry and Sherwood Park – Strathcona MLA Estefania Cortes-Vargas respectively.

The Alberta Emerald Foundation would like to thank the sponsors, donors, volunteers and supporters who made the 24th Annual Emerald Awards a success.

Find out who took home a 24th Annual Emerald Award.

Media Release