The Alberta Emerald Foundation operates under the guidance and expertise of its Board of Directors. Thanks to their generous contributions of time and talent, the AEF is successful in its mission to showcase and inspire environmental achievements in our province.

If you’re interested in being an AEF board member, please see our BOARD INTEREST PACKAGE. You can apply online with your cv using our VOLUNTEER APPLICATION FORM. If you have any questions, please contact GREGORY@EMERALDFOUNDATION.CA.

Executive Committee

Mark Brostrom
Director, City Environmental Strategies, Urban Form and Corporate Strategic Development, Economic & Environmental Sustainability

Lee Funke
Consultant, Torque Communications

Past-Chair/Resource Development Committee Co-Chair:
Andy Etmanski, President
ETCON Environmental Services Ltd.

Rebecca Grant
Finance Advisor, LNGCanada Pipeline

Communications & Outreach Committee Chair:
Lee Funke
Consultant, Torque Communications

Resource Development Committee Co-Chair
Kari McDonald
Chief Operating Officer – YellowBike Solutions Inc.


Governance Committee Chair:
Maegan Lukian, B.Sc., EP
Senior Environmental Coordinator,
Infrastructure Supports and Operations,
Edmonton Public Schools


Alyssa Belanger, Watershed Coordinator – Lesser Slave Watershed Council

Mortimer Capriles, Director of Sustainability and Innovation – Goodwill Industries of Alberta

Dick Ebersohn, Manager, Climate Change & Environment – Environmental & Safety Management, City of Calgary

JoAnn Jamieson, Partner – McLennan Ross LLP

Peter Koning, Director, Sustainable Development Integration – ConocoPhillips Canada

April Moon, Director, Asset Performance Liquids Pipelines – Enbridge

Debbie Rheinstein, Teacher for Calgary Board of Education

Katherine Rogers, M.Sc. Student – Department of Resource Economics and Environmental Sociology, University of Alberta

Theresa Wynnyk, Company of Women on the Screen Inc.