About Us

The Alberta Emerald Foundation recognizes and celebrates environmental achievements and stewardship in Alberta, establishing an example of excellence for all to follow.

Since 1992, over 2500 examples of creative thinking and innovation in environmental management systems, technologies and education programs have been shared, helping Alberta balance its growth and resource development with the preservation of our environment.

By celebrating environmental excellence, the Alberta Emerald Foundation works to raise the public’s awareness of the successful growth and improvement in these areas, and to inspire positive involvement in the protection of our environment.

Emerald Foundation Infographic


To recognize and celebrate environmental excellence.



Alberta Emerald Foundation inspires environmental excellence and improvement.



  • Promoting environmental leadership.
  • Communicating and collaborating with others.
  • Ensuring the integrity and credibility of the Foundation.
  • Engaging the next generation.


Who We Are

The Alberta Emerald Foundation operates almost exclusively through the contributions of time and talent of committed volunteers. From board and committee members, to those who judge over 100 Emerald Award nominations each year, the importance of this group cannot be overlooked.

Executive Committee:

Andy Etmanski, Principal
Millennium EMS Solutions Ltd


Alan L. Ross, Partner,
Borden, Ladner Gervais, LLP

Alex Simpson, CA
Tourmaline Oil Corp.

Communications & Outreach Committee Chair:
Lee Funke
Consultant, Torque Communications

Resource Development Committee Chair

Governance Committee Chair:
Meagan Lukien
Environmental Coordinator, Infrastructure, District Operations, Edmonton Public Schools


Mark Brostrom, P. Eng., Director, City Environmental Strategies | Urban Planning & Environment | Sustainable Development Department, City of Edmonton

Katherine Rogers, Energy Extension Coordinator, Government of Alberta – Agriculture and Forestry

Peter Koning, Director, Sustainable Development Integration, ConocoPhillips Canada




Jason Proche, Leader, Strategic Planning and Governance, The City of Calgary

Robert Stokes, RPF, Executive Director, Community Engagement Branch, Strategy Division, Alberta Environment and Parks

Ken Kan,
VP, Environment Health & Safety, GE Energy



Executive Director:
Carmen Boyko

Communications & Outreach Manager:
Gregory Caswell



The Alberta Emerald Foundation is a registered charity.

CRA Charity Number #13380 0771 RR0001

Volunteering with the Alberta Emerald Foundation

The Alberta Emerald Foundation is volunteer driven. We thank those who generously share their time, talent and expertise. Volunteers are involved with the Board of Directors, committees, special events and as ambassadors.



Become an
Alberta Emerald Foundation

Contact us at 780.616.1556 or executivedirector@emeraldfoundation.ca.